AHEAD OF THE CURVE CHRONICLES №24

DADDY COOL
It was Father’s Day at the weekend. While children the world over desperately ordered tacky photo mugs, personalised BBQ sets and novelty socks, the HS team were asked to reflect on the male role models in their life. They were asked to share what the greatest thing they have ever been given by their dad, stepdad, favourite uncle or wise old granddad is.

HarrimanSteel
4 min readMay 20, 2021
Left: David Sylvian Centre: Puerile humour Right: Family values

Sylvan, HS Creative: My dad is my hero. He doesn’t wear a cape but when I became a web designer, he showed me great design. He showed me music from Moby, Bowie, New Order, and Bryan Ferry, and he even named me after his favourite artist David Sylvian (Japan). He made me fall in love with Italy. He showed me alternative cultures, music and people. He’s a workaholic, has too many records and collectibles but is anything but materialistic. He made me think big.

Penny, HS Comms Coordinator: I reckon my personality is about 80% my dad’s, which means I’ve got a solid mix of both his best and most irritating qualities. He is a retired journalist, and I’ve definitely inherited his love of words and writing, but I think the thing that friends and family would most clearly identify as being his is my sense of humour. Even when I was very young, we would notice the same funny (some might say puerile) things about a situation, a person or a phrase and would simultaneously catch each other’s eye, then weep with laughter about it.

Julia, HS Senior Project Manager: The greatest thing my Dad gave me was the sense of family — always respecting each individual and each voice (which can be a lot among 5 siblings!) and making us realise how simple and great it is to spend time together.

Left: Books, books, books Centre: A musical education Right: Great genes

Nicola, HS Account Manager: My Grandfather (George) taught me to appreciate reading, to constantly acquire knowledge, and to never stop learning. I reckon that’s a pretty good lesson.

Ben, HS Sr. Art Director: With his repeat plays of Queen’s ‘Greatest Hits 1’ and Kool & the Gang’s ‘Celebration!’ on long car journeys, my dad sowed the seeds of my lifelong addiction to music.

Kym, HS Senior Account Manager:The greatest thing my dad has given me is my personality! My mum sent me a quote as to our similarities: ‘quick witted, sharp thinker, determined, and tenacious.’ Oh, and his dashing good looks — see above🔥

Left: Shared interests Centre: Don’t fight the funny Right: Embrace the absurd

Andy, HS Business Director: Something my Dad has gifted me with is the introduction to loads of amazing musical artists. He has an amazing record collection at home in New Zealand, and we always have a great time throwing some music on and settling into a little session with a few drinks. I try and add a couple of records to the collection every now and then to pay back the favour and introduce some new artists to him too.

Lydia, HS Creative: A valuable lesson from my stepdad is to always stay calm and be methodical about things. Also to be a bit cheeky from time to time. My stepdad at 75 is still so quick and funny, and he makes even people he doesn’t know feel at ease.

Julian, HS ECD: When your parents are no longer around, and especially when you are a parent yourself, you really think a lot about about all they did for you. There are three things that spring to mind that my father instilled in me: 1) A strong work ethic. Talent alone is not enough. If you want something you have to work for it and work hard. Roll up your sleeves and lead by example. 2) To keep a sense of humour and perspective at all times and to remember to revel in the absurd. 3) To keep an open mind, keep exploring and don’t be afraid to try things. Don’t be too concerned with what other people think, and know your own mind.

--

--

HarrimanSteel

Independent Creative Agency. Culturally rooted and globally active.